[RFCI-Discuss] no info on how to be removed from blacklist

Tony Korologos tonykorologos at gmail.com
Wed Dec 24 00:49:02 EST 2008


You lost me with the Karsten thing... Andrew.

Bill thanks for the reading materials.  I wish they were just html and
not pdf's but still good to know.

Yes I've definitely concluded it is my provider's domain blacklisting
which is the messing me up, not my own.

All of the domains on my server do have abuse and postmaster addresses
now.  The A-Record won't be showing abac.net soon.  It will be showing
my new A-Record... I hope...  It is taking quite a long time to
resolve though..

Thanks again all who are giving me their input.  This is all new
territory for me.



On Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 8:27 PM, Andrew Joakimsen <joakimsen at gmail.com> wrote:
> On Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 18:04, Tony Korologos <tonykorologos at gmail.com> wrote:
>> Right.  I've changed the A-Record but it hasn't propagated yet.  I
>> hope it does soon and this resolves the problem.
>>
>> On Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 1:01 PM, mouss <mouss at netoyen.net> wrote:
>>> Tony Korologos a écrit :
>>>> First off I thank ALL of you who are responding.  I'm new to running a
>>>> dedicated server and to say the least it has been a "learning"
>>>> experience.
>>>>
>>>> Ralf, I didn't think any of my individual domains were listed but I
>>>> was told to check all the domains on that server so I did.  That did
>>>> confirm that none of the 26 domains were listed.
>>>>
>>>> The reason I think the IP is blocked is because the tech support team
>>>> for my provider told me it was, then provided me a llink to
>>>> http://www.blacklistalert.org to check it.    I typed in my IP and all
>>>> checked out ok, except for a listing under abuse.rfc-ignorant.org.
>>>> Other listings have a "why" link by them but this one doesn't.  My
>>>> provider told me I'd have to work with rfc-ignorant to get it unisted
>>>> and get my outgoing mail working again.
>>>>
>>>
>>> the blacklistalert.org shows that
>>>        64-150-176-250.dedicated.abac.net
>>> is listed, not your IP. This is because your ISP/hoster doesn't have a
>>> working postmaster nor a working abuse addresses.
>>>
>>>> I've since changed the A-Record of the server and I'm waiting to see
>>>> if that helps.  The default A-Record had my provider's domain abac.com
>>>> in it, which IS listed.  I'm hoping that when the A-Record propagates
>>>> I'll be back in good shape.  But I still won't know how to submit to
>>>> rfc-ignorant the request to be delisted, or will I have to at that
>>>> point?
>>>>
>>>>
>
> My goodness, Karsten M. Self lives. He one of the most annoying
> egocentric persons I have ever talked with.
>
> With that said, fixing your A records still does not change the fact
> that you do not have a valid abuse or postmaster address.
>
> _______________________________________________
> RFCI-Discuss mailing list
> RFCI-Discuss at lists.megacity.org
> http://lists.megacity.org/mailman/listinfo/rfci-discuss
>



More information about the RFCI-Discuss mailing list