[RFCI-Discuss] Domains By Proxy

Abuse Desk abuse at despam.us
Sun Jan 14 19:02:53 EST 2007


Derek J. Balling wrote:
> Comments from the masses?

We do not agree with Derek that the domain madetad.com should not have been 
approved for listing as submitted Jan 2, 2007 at 9:36 EST.  'the name and 
address of the organization "owning" the domain' appeared to be as follows 
at the time:
 Registrant:
    Domains by Proxy  Inc.
    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd.  Ste 160  PMB 353
    Scottsdale  Arizona 85260
    United States

Clearly, 'the organization "owning" the domain' DOES have to be shown in the 
WHOIS Record per RFC1032.  ICANN refers to this entity as a Registered Name 
Holder.  Clearly, Domains by Proxy, Inc. is in the business of keeping all 
information about the real 'organization "owning" the domain' out of WHOIS 
records, in violation of RFC1032 on a massive scale.  The alternative (the 
theory that they are fraudulently telling their customers that their 
customers actually "own" the domains that their customers have "bought" from 
Domains by Proxy, Inc. or another GoDaddy Group subsidiary) appears to be 
something that the Arizona State Attorney General and United States Attorney 
General have not yet prosecuted them for.

We suggest that, until such time as such a prosecution happens, all domains 
registered to domainname at domainsbyproxy.com be approved for WHOIS listing on 
sight.

OTOH:

At the time, Go Daddy Group's subsidiary Domains by Proxy  Inc. was letting 
a spammer use its domain for nefarious purposes.  Now, Go Daddy Group's 
subsidiary Wild West Domains has confiscated the domain, presumably because 
of the spamming or related spam support activities.  This is not necessarily 
a bad thing.  :)

Also, we don't believe that referring to a document that could be infected 
is a healthy listing submission activity.

Disclosure: we are a Go Daddy customer.

-- 
Best Regards,

Abuse Desk
DeSpam.Us 


More information about the RFCI-Discuss mailing list