[RFCI-Discuss] Geographical domains: ny.us versus msk.ru

Derek J. Balling dredd at megacity.org
Wed Oct 25 09:41:16 EDT 2006


One difference is that msk.ru have "self-assigned" some services  
directly out of the domain itself:

$ host www.msk.ru
www.msk.ru has address 217.147.29.168
deballing-mac:~ deballing$ whois msk.ru
^C
deballing-mac:~ deballing$ whois www.msk.ru | less
% By submitting a query to RIPN's Whois Service
% you agree to abide by the following terms of use:
% http://www.ripn.net/about/servpol.html#3.2 (in Russian)
% http://www.ripn.net/about/en/servpol.html#3.2 (in English).

No entries found for the selected source(s).

So... there's a "WWW" service directly within the geoTLD, but it's  
not as though that's just someone cleaver who registered "www.msk.ru"  
as their domain, that's the msk.ru folks using their domain for  
common use, and this is important *like any other domain-holder*.

.COM doesn't have the same situation. There are no domains set up in  
that domain that aren't owned by someone. Sure there's a "www.com"  
but it's a domain registered by someone, not just something the .COM  
registry set up (unlike the MSK.RU example).

So, that's why msk.ru is just like any other domain, because it's  
being used just like any other domain.

Cheers,
D



On Oct 25, 2006, at 9:26 AM, Alexey Lobanov wrote:

> Hello.
>
> On 25/10/06 16:36, Administrative Account wrote:
>
>> 	Actually it seems that any listing in abuse for refused email, or
>> the lack of both any MX or A RRs is proper - The domain contains  
>> abusable
>> resources
>
> Domain "com" contains even more abuseable resources. Should  
> abuse at com be
> contactable for same reason?
>
>> and should maintain an abuse@ account.
>
> A geographical domain maintainers have zero power to process abuse
> reports related to subdomain owners. They are just custodians,
> registrars. They are not an ISP providing connectivity for these  
> resources.
>
> Same is applicable to ny.us, of course.
>
> Alexey
>
>
>>
>> % dig ns.msk.ru any @ns.spb.ru +noqu +norec +noadd +noau
>>
>> ; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> ns.msk.ru any @ns.spb.ru +noqu +norec +noadd  
>> +noau
>> ; (1 server found)
>> ;; global options:  printcmd
>> ;; Got answer:
>> ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3048
>> ;; flags: qr aa ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3
>>
>> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
>> ns.msk.ru.              86400   IN      A       193.125.152.25
>>
>> ;; Query time: 237 msec
>> ;; SERVER: 193.124.83.69#53(193.124.83.69)
>> ;; WHEN: Wed Oct 25 05:02:54 2006
>> ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 160
>>
>> % host 193.125.152.25
>> 25.152.125.193.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer ns.msk.ru.
>>
>> 	From the evidence in the listing it appears that at the time of
>> the listing the domain had an MX record pointing to  
>> mx0.rambler.ru, which
>> seems very reasonable to believe. i.e. It seems that it did  
>> qualify.  Does
>> this domain have email (and thus required to have a postmaster@)?   
>> I suspect
>> no email is in use in the domain ny.us, and if it has any A RRs,  
>> it too
>> would appear listable for abuse if there is no abuse@ for the  
>> domain.  Whether
>> or which other RR types are abusable is a separate argument^Wissue.
>>
>> 	nyc.ny.us does have an A record, so it would appear that something
>> is listable for abuse.  Even more interesting, because the domain  
>> ny.us
>> is marked as "inactive/HOLD" in its Whois/registration records and  
>> the
>> domain nyc.ny.us is also inactive status (with its own Whois/ 
>> registration
>> record), yet the host nyc.ny.us is in the ".us" TLD zone.  Now  
>> which domain
>> should be in the abuse list?  One or both?  (Confusing things ? 
>> maybe? the
>> IP 204.141.221.254 has no rDNS, and the secordary MX below doesn't  
>> resolve.)
>> The "suspended" domain of "nyc.ny.us" appears listable for all of  
>> DSN, abuse
>> and postmaster lists.
>>
>>
>> % dig nyc.ny.us any @a.gtld.biz +noqu +norec +noadd
>>
>> ; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> nyc.ny.us any @a.gtld.biz +noqu +norec +noadd
>> ; (1 server found)
>> ;; global options:  printcmd
>> ;; Got answer:
>> ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 44954
>> ;; flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3
>>
>> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
>> nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	MX	20 mail3.new-york.NET.
>> nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	MX	10 mail.NORWALK.COM.
>> nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	A	204.141.221.254
>>
>> ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
>> us.			518400	IN	NS	a.gtld.biz.
>> us.			518400	IN	NS	b.gtld.biz.
>> us.			518400	IN	NS	c.gtld.biz.
>>
>> ;; Query time: 95 msec
>> ;; SERVER: 209.173.53.162#53(209.173.53.162)
>> ;; WHEN: Wed Oct 25 05:18:35 2006
>> ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 213
>>
>> % telnet mail.NORWALK.COM smtp
>> Trying 66.235.210.101...
>> Connected to mail.NORWALK.COM.
>> Escape character is '^]'.
>> 220 rs290.securehostserver.com ESMTP
>> helo plectere.com
>> 250 rs290.securehostserver.com
>> mail from: <>
>> 250 ok
>> rcpt to: <abuse at nyc.ny.us>
>> 553 sorry, that domain isn't in my list of allowed rcpthosts (#5.7.1)
>> quit
>> 221 rs290.securehostserver.com
>> Connection closed by foreign host.
>>
>> 	Paul Shupak
>> 	track at plectere.com
>> _______________________________________________
>> RFCI-Discuss mailing list
>> RFCI-Discuss at lists.megacity.org
>> http://lists.megacity.org/mailman/listinfo/rfci-discuss
>
> _______________________________________________
> RFCI-Discuss mailing list
> RFCI-Discuss at lists.megacity.org
> http://lists.megacity.org/mailman/listinfo/rfci-discuss

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: smime.p7s
Type: application/pkcs7-signature
Size: 2419 bytes
Desc: not available
Url : http://lists.megacity.org/pipermail/rfci-discuss/attachments/20061025/bad76368/smime-0001.bin


More information about the RFCI-Discuss mailing list