[RFCI-Discuss] Geographical domains: ny.us versus msk.ru

Alexey Lobanov aal at lobanov.sp.ru
Wed Oct 25 09:26:45 EDT 2006


Hello.

On 25/10/06 16:36, Administrative Account wrote:

> 	Actually it seems that any listing in abuse for refused email, or
> the lack of both any MX or A RRs is proper - The domain contains abusable
> resources

Domain "com" contains even more abuseable resources. Should abuse at com be
contactable for same reason?

> and should maintain an abuse@ account.

A geographical domain maintainers have zero power to process abuse
reports related to subdomain owners. They are just custodians,
registrars. They are not an ISP providing connectivity for these resources.

Same is applicable to ny.us, of course.

Alexey


> 
> % dig ns.msk.ru any @ns.spb.ru +noqu +norec +noadd +noau
> 
> ; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> ns.msk.ru any @ns.spb.ru +noqu +norec +noadd +noau
> ; (1 server found)
> ;; global options:  printcmd
> ;; Got answer:
> ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3048
> ;; flags: qr aa ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3
> 
> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
> ns.msk.ru.              86400   IN      A       193.125.152.25
> 
> ;; Query time: 237 msec
> ;; SERVER: 193.124.83.69#53(193.124.83.69)
> ;; WHEN: Wed Oct 25 05:02:54 2006
> ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 160
> 
> % host 193.125.152.25
> 25.152.125.193.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer ns.msk.ru.
> 
> 	From the evidence in the listing it appears that at the time of
> the listing the domain had an MX record pointing to mx0.rambler.ru, which
> seems very reasonable to believe. i.e. It seems that it did qualify.  Does
> this domain have email (and thus required to have a postmaster@)?  I suspect
> no email is in use in the domain ny.us, and if it has any A RRs, it too
> would appear listable for abuse if there is no abuse@ for the domain.  Whether
> or which other RR types are abusable is a separate argument^Wissue.
> 
> 	nyc.ny.us does have an A record, so it would appear that something
> is listable for abuse.  Even more interesting, because the domain ny.us
> is marked as "inactive/HOLD" in its Whois/registration records and the
> domain nyc.ny.us is also inactive status (with its own Whois/registration
> record), yet the host nyc.ny.us is in the ".us" TLD zone.  Now which domain
> should be in the abuse list?  One or both?  (Confusing things ?maybe? the
> IP 204.141.221.254 has no rDNS, and the secordary MX below doesn't resolve.)
> The "suspended" domain of "nyc.ny.us" appears listable for all of DSN, abuse
> and postmaster lists.
> 
> 
> % dig nyc.ny.us any @a.gtld.biz +noqu +norec +noadd
> 
> ; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> nyc.ny.us any @a.gtld.biz +noqu +norec +noadd
> ; (1 server found)
> ;; global options:  printcmd
> ;; Got answer:
> ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 44954
> ;; flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3
> 
> ;; ANSWER SECTION:
> nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	MX	20 mail3.new-york.NET.
> nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	MX	10 mail.NORWALK.COM.
> nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	A	204.141.221.254
> 
> ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
> us.			518400	IN	NS	a.gtld.biz.
> us.			518400	IN	NS	b.gtld.biz.
> us.			518400	IN	NS	c.gtld.biz.
> 
> ;; Query time: 95 msec
> ;; SERVER: 209.173.53.162#53(209.173.53.162)
> ;; WHEN: Wed Oct 25 05:18:35 2006
> ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 213
> 
> % telnet mail.NORWALK.COM smtp
> Trying 66.235.210.101...
> Connected to mail.NORWALK.COM.
> Escape character is '^]'.
> 220 rs290.securehostserver.com ESMTP
> helo plectere.com
> 250 rs290.securehostserver.com
> mail from: <>
> 250 ok
> rcpt to: <abuse at nyc.ny.us>
> 553 sorry, that domain isn't in my list of allowed rcpthosts (#5.7.1)
> quit
> 221 rs290.securehostserver.com
> Connection closed by foreign host.
> 
> 	Paul Shupak
> 	track at plectere.com
> _______________________________________________
> RFCI-Discuss mailing list
> RFCI-Discuss at lists.megacity.org
> http://lists.megacity.org/mailman/listinfo/rfci-discuss



More information about the RFCI-Discuss mailing list