[RFCI-Discuss] Geographical domains: ny.us versus msk.ru

Administrative Account hostmaster at Plectere.com
Wed Oct 25 08:36:47 EDT 2006


	Actually it seems that any listing in abuse for refused email, or
the lack of both any MX or A RRs is proper - The domain contains abusable
resources and should maintain an abuse@ account.

% dig ns.msk.ru any @ns.spb.ru +noqu +norec +noadd +noau

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> ns.msk.ru any @ns.spb.ru +noqu +norec +noadd +noau
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3048
;; flags: qr aa ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns.msk.ru.              86400   IN      A       193.125.152.25

;; Query time: 237 msec
;; SERVER: 193.124.83.69#53(193.124.83.69)
;; WHEN: Wed Oct 25 05:02:54 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 160

% host 193.125.152.25
25.152.125.193.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer ns.msk.ru.

	From the evidence in the listing it appears that at the time of
the listing the domain had an MX record pointing to mx0.rambler.ru, which
seems very reasonable to believe. i.e. It seems that it did qualify.  Does
this domain have email (and thus required to have a postmaster@)?  I suspect
no email is in use in the domain ny.us, and if it has any A RRs, it too
would appear listable for abuse if there is no abuse@ for the domain.  Whether
or which other RR types are abusable is a separate argument^Wissue.

	nyc.ny.us does have an A record, so it would appear that something
is listable for abuse.  Even more interesting, because the domain ny.us
is marked as "inactive/HOLD" in its Whois/registration records and the
domain nyc.ny.us is also inactive status (with its own Whois/registration
record), yet the host nyc.ny.us is in the ".us" TLD zone.  Now which domain
should be in the abuse list?  One or both?  (Confusing things ?maybe? the
IP 204.141.221.254 has no rDNS, and the secordary MX below doesn't resolve.)
The "suspended" domain of "nyc.ny.us" appears listable for all of DSN, abuse
and postmaster lists.


% dig nyc.ny.us any @a.gtld.biz +noqu +norec +noadd

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> nyc.ny.us any @a.gtld.biz +noqu +norec +noadd
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 44954
;; flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 3, ADDITIONAL: 3

;; ANSWER SECTION:
nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	MX	20 mail3.new-york.NET.
nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	MX	10 mail.NORWALK.COM.
nyc.ny.us.		900	IN	A	204.141.221.254

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
us.			518400	IN	NS	a.gtld.biz.
us.			518400	IN	NS	b.gtld.biz.
us.			518400	IN	NS	c.gtld.biz.

;; Query time: 95 msec
;; SERVER: 209.173.53.162#53(209.173.53.162)
;; WHEN: Wed Oct 25 05:18:35 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 213

% telnet mail.NORWALK.COM smtp
Trying 66.235.210.101...
Connected to mail.NORWALK.COM.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 rs290.securehostserver.com ESMTP
helo plectere.com
250 rs290.securehostserver.com
mail from: <>
250 ok
rcpt to: <abuse at nyc.ny.us>
553 sorry, that domain isn't in my list of allowed rcpthosts (#5.7.1)
quit
221 rs290.securehostserver.com
Connection closed by foreign host.

	Paul Shupak
	track at plectere.com


More information about the RFCI-Discuss mailing list