[RFCI-Discuss] DSN listing of secureserver.net
Alan Brown
alanb at digistar.com
Tue Oct 24 13:11:18 EDT 2006
On Tue, 24 Oct 2006, Derek J. Balling wrote:
> I think given that:
>
> [a] we don't know what was in "xxx.xxx.xx"
> [b] that makes it hard to determine if the site was implementing SPF
> properly
SPF checks are supposed to be based on the envelope sender address, not
the source IP address or the EHLO.
For the record though, it appears that's exactly what they're doing. I'd
classify this as dain bramaged behaviour.
Trying 64.202.166.12...
Connected to smtp.secureserver.net (64.202.166.12).
Escape character is '^]'.
220 pre-smtp09-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net ESMTP
helo blah
250 pre-smtp09-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net
mail from:<>
250 ok
quit
221 pre-smtp09-02.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net Goodbye.
Connection closed by foreign host.
220 pre-smtp02-01.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net ESMTP
ehlo manawatu.net.nz
250-pre-smtp02-01.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net
250-PIPELINING
250-SIZE 31457280
250 8BITMIME
mail from:<>
554 refused mailfrom because of SPF policy
quit
221 pre-smtp02-01.prod.mesa1.secureserver.net Goodbye.
Connection closed by foreign host.
(Yes, that really was "blah")
AB
More information about the RFCI-Discuss
mailing list