[RFCI-Discuss] DSN listing of secureserver.net

Derek J. Balling dredd at megacity.org
Tue Oct 24 11:06:46 EDT 2006


On Oct 24, 2006, at 10:59 AM, Matus UHLAR - fantomas wrote:
> I wonder why was secureserver.net refused from DSN listing. Its  
> SMTP server
> refuses mail from:<> with message "554 refused mailfrom because of SPF
> policy" - isn't this a clear violation?

I think given that:

	[a] we don't know what was in "xxx.xxx.xx"
	[b] that makes it hard to determine if the site was implementing SPF  
properly

that the submission should be rejected on completeness grounds.

Now, assuming that:

	[Case 1] "xxx.xxx.xx" has SPF records which would prohibit from  
coming from AAA.BBB.CCC.DDD (your IP address), then I would say that  
there's no legitimate beef
	[Case 2] "xxx.xxx.xx" has no such SPF records, or secureserver.net  
is otherwise misimplementing SPF, then I would say there's a  
potential case


Cheers,
D
  
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: smime.p7s
Type: application/pkcs7-signature
Size: 2419 bytes
Desc: not available
Url : http://lists.megacity.org/pipermail/rfci-discuss/attachments/20061024/93946493/smime.bin


More information about the RFCI-Discuss mailing list